

Public Utility Commission of Texas

1701 N. Congress, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, TX 78711-3326

Press Release Contact: Ellie Breed
Oct. 10, 2023 Media@PUC.Texas.Gov

Texas Advanced Nuclear Reactor Working Group Named

FAQs Added to PUCT Nuclear Working Group Webpage

Austin, Texas - The members of the Public Utility Commission of Texas' (PUCT) <u>Texas Advanced Nuclear Reactor Working Group</u> were announced today. The working group was established Aug. 16, 2023, at the direction of Governor Greg Abbott and operates under the leadership of PUCT Commissioner Jimmy Glotfelty.

"These experts are leaders in nuclear energy, business, and academia and will be instrumental as we chart a path forward for advanced nuclear technology in Texas," Glotfelty said. "The diversity and depth of their expertise will help us deliver a comprehensive and actionable plan to make our state the leader in nuclear energy. I thank each of them for their willingness to participate and serve the interests of Texas consumers."

The members of the Texas Advanced Nuclear Reactor Working Group, along with Commissioner Glotfelty, are:

Dillon Allen, Senior Manager of Advanced Nuclear Development, Entergy

Chrissy Borskey, Senior Executive Director, Government Affairs and Policy, GE Vernova/GE Hitachi

Bret Colby, Principal, Nuclear Oversight, CPS Energy

Ryan Duncan, Director of Government Relations, Last Energy

Derek Haas, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin

Maynard Holt, CEO, Veriten

Mike Kotara, President, Zachry Sustainability Solutions

Stephanie Matthews, Executive Vice President, Texas Association of Business

Sean McDeavitt, Associate Vice Chancellor, National Laboratories Office, Texas A&M University

Andy Meyers, Ft. Bend County Commissioner

Andy Nguyen, Director of Wholesale Market Development, Constellation

Preeti Patel, Associate Commercial Director, Dow

Benjamin Reinke, Vice President of Global Business Development, X-Energy

Doug Robison, CEO, Natura

Clayton Scott, Executive Vice President of Business Development, Pearl/NuScale

Jim Stanway, Senior Strategist, Samsung

Pablo Vegas, CEO, Electric Reliability Council of Texas

Along with working group members, additional experts in fields relating to nuclear energy development, deployment, and distribution will join this effort on subgroups to ensure the full spectrum of ideas and options can be considered.

The working group will evaluate how advanced nuclear reactors can provide safe, reliable, and affordable power for Texas. Areas of study include safety advancements, financial incentives, state, and federal regulatory impediments to growth, permitting processes, and impacts to the Texas electric market. The working group must report its findings and recommendations to Governor Abbott by Dec. 1, 2024.

Additional information can be found on the <u>Texas Advanced Nuclear Reactor Working Group web page</u>, including <u>frequently asked questions</u> and information about upcoming public working group meetings as they are scheduled.

About the Public Utility Commission

Our mission is to serve Texans by regulating the state's electric, telecommunication, and water and sewer utilities, implementing respective legislation, and offering customer assistance in resolving consumer complaints. Since its founding in 1975, the Commission has a long and proud history of service to Texas, protecting customers, fostering competition, and promoting high quality infrastructure. To learn more, please visit https://www.puc.texas.gov.

Copyright © 2023 Public Utility Commission of Texas