Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Abbott issues disaster declaration for Dallas

Photo via Jennifer S. Gates

On Monday, Gov. Greg Abbott issued a disaster declaration for 16 Texas counties in response to severe weather sustained across North Texas. The storm resulted in a tornado that knocked out power and caused severe damage. 

The tornado touched down 9:30 p.m. Sunday. The National Weather Service confirmed the twister on Monday rated it as an EF-3 storm with winds of at least 140 mph. 

The state-level disaster declaration, in addition to one signed by Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins, will “speed out of state resources” and assist electric company Oncor with debris removal and power line repair.

One of the key ways that the disaster declaration assists in restoring electricity is by waiving regulations that prohibit utility companies from using out-of-state resources. 

Another aspect of a disaster declaration is it allows residents to apply for financial assistance. Homeowners and renters approved for disaster relief could receive temporary housing as well as funds for home and/or business repairs and rental assistance. 

The declaration includes Cass, Cameron, Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Erath, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Panola, Rains, Rockwall, Rusk, Tarrant, Van Zandt, and Wood counties.

Written by RA News staff.
Award-App Footer

Download our award-winning app