Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Six potential candidates running to replace Former State Rep. Eric Johnson’s Dallas County State House Seat

After winning a June 8 runoff election to replace term-limited Mayor Mike Rawlings, former State Representative Eric Johnson (D – Dallas) was sworn in as Mayor of Dallas on June 17. Johnson resigned from his House seat shortly before the oath of office, creating a vacancy in House District 100 and paving the way for a special election to finish his term.

Governor Greg Abbott issued a proclamation earlier this month setting the special election for House District 100 on Tuesday, November 5, 2019, coinciding with the statewide constitutional election. 

To date, six people have filed candidate treasurer appointments for the Dallas County State House seat in order to begin fundraising for a potential run. They include Dallas attorney Paul Stafford, who ran unsuccessfully as a Democrat for HD 115 against Matt Rinaldi in 2014, Dallas consultant Damarcus Offord, who ran unsuccessfully for Dallas ISD Trustee District 9 in 2015 and 2012, Dallas business owner Daniel Clayton, former aide to Rep. Toni Rose, Dallas attorney Lorraine Birabil, former aide to U.S. Rep. Marc Veasey (D-Fort Worth), Dallas attorney Rob Canas, and Dallas attorney Jasmine Crockett.

Filing for a candidate treasurer appointment does not confirm their run for office; however, it does preview what the field of candidates look like for the fall special election.

The deadline for candidates to file with the Secretary of State to be on the ballot is Wednesday, September 4, 2019 at 5pm.

Early voting begins Monday, October 21, 2019.

Reform Austin will continue to follow and report on developments related to Texas House District 100 and the upcoming 2020 election for seats in the Texas Legislature.

Written by RA News staff.
Award-App Footer

Download our award-winning app