According to News for San Antonio, starting this January, Texas parents can receive misdemeanor charges if their child is improperly seated while in a car.
A child not wearing a seat belt may result in a $25 to $250 fine. If they are under the age of eight and improperly restrained, it may result in a misdemeanor charge.
Texas law requires that parents follow manuals dictating age limits for rear-facing seats. Two years old is the most common age for these kinds of seats.
If you need help installing a car seat, call SPD at 830-379-2123.