Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

28 new members are joining the Texas House of Representatives

Eleven women, seventeen men. One legislator coming back after leaving to run for a different office, a former Mayor Pro Tempore, many first-time candidates. Ten lawyers, one veterinarian, a pet shop owner, four former or current teachers, and multiple small business owners.
2018 was a year of change in Texas, with 28 new members joining the Texas House of Representatives.  The incoming Representatives come from across Texas and have a variety of professional backgrounds and experiences they will bring to Austin for the 86th Legislative Session starting in January, 2019.
HD-004 (Henderson, Kaufmann)- Keith Bell (R- Terrel) is a business owner, who founded an electrical contracting business.
HD-008 (Anderson, Freestone, Hill, Navarro) – Cody Harris (R- Corsicana) is a business owner, founding a farm and ranch real estate, management and development firm.
HD-015 (Montgomery) – Steve Toth (R- The Woodlands) is small business owner, specializing in pool installation.
HD-023 (Chambers, Galveston) – Mayes Middleton (R- Galveston) is a business executive and business owner, working in oil and gas – as well as managing his own agricultural operations.
HD-037 (Cameron) – Alex Dominguez (D- Brownsville) is an attorney and former county commissioner.
HD-045 (Hays, Cameron) – Erin Zwiener (D- Dripping Springs) is a political activist and organizer.
HD-046 (Travis) – Sheryl Cole (D- Austin) is a former Austin mayor pro tempore and legal attorney.
HD-047 (Travis) – Vikki Goodwin (D- Austin) is a business owner of a real estate company and has also worked as a systems analyst for the Office of the Attorney General of Texas.
HD-052 (Williamson) – James Talarico (D- Round Rock) is a former public-school educator.
HD-054 (Bell, Lampasas) – Brad Buckley (R- Killeen) is a veterinarian by trade and serves on an independent school district board.
HD-062 (Delta, Fannin, Grayson) – Reggie Smith (R- Sherman) is a lawyer and owns a law firm.
HD-065 (Denton) – Michelle Beckley (D- Carrollton) is a pet store owner.
HD-089 (Collin) – Candy Noble (R- Parker) is a community volunteer and serves as parliamentarian for her county GOP.
HD-102 (Dallas) – Ana-Maria Ramos (D- Dallas) is a self-employed attorney with her own law firm, as well as a college associate professor.
HD-104 (Dallas) – Jessica Gonzalez (D- Dallas) is an attorney and works as partner for a law firm.
HD-105 (Dallas) – Terry Meza (D- Grand Prairie) a former public school teacher and owns a law practice.
HD-106 (Denton) – Jared Patterson (R- Prosper) is a business executive and serves as director of energy services.
HD-109 (Dallas) – Carl Sherman Sr. (D- DeSoto) is a business owner and a former DeSoto Mayor.
HD-113 (Dallas) – Rhetta Andrews Bowers (D- Sunnyvale) is a part time educator and community activist.
HD-114 (Dallas) – John Turner (D- Dallas) works for a law firm and has served on various civic boards.
HD-115 (Dallas) – Julie Johnson (D- Irving) is an attorney and owns a law firm.
HD-116 (Bexar) – Trey Martinez Fischer (D- San Antonio) is a former state representative, and an attorney who owns his own law firm.
HD-118 (Bexar) – Leo Pacheco (D- San Antonio) is a college human resource specialist and has taught public administration, management, and labor relations as an adjunct professor.
HD-121 (Bexar) – Steve Allison (R- San Antonio) is a business attorney and former school board member.
HD-126 (Harris) – Sam Harless (R- Houston) a business owner and general manager of an automobile dealership.
HD-132 (Harris) – Gina Calanni (D- Katy) is a paralegal working for the Travis County Attorney’s office and volunteers with organizations tasked with fighting against sex trafficking and providing services to survivors.
HD-135 (Harris) – Jon Rosenthal (D- Houston) is a career engineer and has worked in various capacities within the oil and gas field.
HD-136 (Williamson) – John Bucy (D- Cedar Park) is a small business owner whose organization provides access to sport and extracurricular activities for public schools without the necessary resources.
These election winners are joining a new class of representatives in the 86th Legislature and hopefully will be among the members of House committed to reforming Austin.

Written by RA News staff.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles

Award-App Footer

Download our award-winning app