Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Patrick Releases Senate Committee Chair Assignments

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick released the list of committee assignments for the 87th legislative session. There are not a lot of surprises with regard to the committees, however there are some notable changes.

Patrick got rid of the Intergovernmental Relations committee and created two new committees, Jurisprudence and Local Government chaired by Sen. Joan Huffman and Sen. Paul Bettencourt. Bettencourt was Chair of the Committee on Property Tax last session which has also been dissolved.

This leaves Democrats without a single chairmanship. Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. who had chaired the Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs last session will be Vice Chair of the Finance Committee.

Sen. Kel Seliger, who was the long term chair of Higher Education and was stripped of his chairmanship last session after butting heads with Patrick is now Vice Chair of the Transportation Committee.

See the full list of committee chairs below, and click here for the full member list.

Charles SchwertnerAdministration Committee
Kelly HancockBusiness & Commerce Committee
John WhitmireCriminal Justice Committee
Larry TaylorEducation Committee
Jane NelsonFinance Committee
Lois KolkhorstHealth & Human Services Committee
Brandon CreightonHigher Education Committee
Joan HuffmanJurisprudence
Paul BettencourtLocal Government
Brian BirdwellNatural Resources & Economic Development Committee
Dawn BuckinghamNominations Committee
Bryan HughesState Affairs Committee
Robert NicholsTransportation Committee
Donna CampbellVeterans Affairs & Border Security Committee
Charles PerryWater, Agriculture & Rural Affairs Committee
Brandon CreightonSenate Select Committee on Ports
Joan HuffmanSenate Special Committee on Redistricting
Written by RA News staff.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles

Award-App Footer

Download our award-winning app