Home Elections Page 68


A well-informed electorate is critical to the health of sustaining democracy. Reform Austin is committed to providing in-depth reporting to ensure Texans are prepared when they go to the polls. Additionally, Reform Austin reports on the critical issues and challenges facing voters in Texas elections. 
It has become increasingly difficult for Texans to exercise the right to vote as a record number of polling places have closed. The state tops the nation in shutting down polling sites – closing 750 locations since 2013. Civil rights advocates warn this will disenfranchise voters. 
In the 86th Legislative Session, Texas lawmakers passed legislation prohibiting local governments from setting up temporary polling locations. In the past, mobile and temporary voting centers helped provide better voting access to rural and under-served communities in Texas, including college students and the elderly. Two new Democratic groups and a former Austin city manager have filed suit against the Texas Secretary of State’s office, arguing the bill suppresses the vote of many disenfranchised groups.
Reform Austin covers all aspects of voting – how you vote, who you’re voting for, when you’re voting, where to vote, and the results of the elections. We report on new candidates that announce, people running for reelection, and legislators that announce their resignation. Additionally, we provide comprehensive voter guides for you to compare candidates on the issues, as well as constitutional amendment explainers. Check Reform Austin for everything about voting, including what is done in the Texas Legislature to either promote or suppress the vote.

Terry Meza defeats incumbent Rodney Anderson

Terry Meza defeated incumbent Rodney Anderson for a seat in the Texas House.

Ana-Maria Ramos defeats incumbent Linda Koop

Ana-Maria Ramos defeated incumbent Linda Koop for a seat in the Texas House.

Michelle Beckley defeats incumbent Ron Simmons

Michelle Buckley defeated incumbent Ron Simmons for a seat in the Texas House.

John Turner defeats Lisa Luby Ryan

John Turner defeats Lisa Luby Ryan for a seat in the Texas House.

Julie Johnson defeats incumbent Matt Rinaldi

Julie Johnson defeated incumbent Matt Rinaldi for a seat in the Texas House.

Vikki Goodwin unseats incumbent Paul Workman

Vikki Goodwin defeated incumbent Paul Workman for a seat in the Texas House.

Rhetta Andrews Bowers takes the seat

Rhetta Andrews Bowers defeated Jonathan Boos for a seat in the Texas House.

State Senator Garcia resigns, December 11 election to decide replacement

State Senator Sylvia Garcia (D - Houston) has resigned from her position after being elected to the U.S. Congress. Governor Greg Abbott has called for a Tuesday, December 11 election to decide her successor.

Abbott, incumbents win statewide races

Republican incumbents won all the statewide races in Texas on Election Day, as they have done for two decades, though most of the races were much closer than anticipated.

Election Night brings major changes to the Texas State Legislature

Two incumbent state senators lost their seats after Tuesday’s election, and Democrats won 12 seats in the Texas House of Representatives, increasing their share from 55 seats to 66 seats in the 150 member body.

Elections Must Read