Home Elections Page 69


A well-informed electorate is critical to the health of sustaining democracy. Reform Austin is committed to providing in-depth reporting to ensure Texans are prepared when they go to the polls. Additionally, Reform Austin reports on the critical issues and challenges facing voters in Texas elections. 
It has become increasingly difficult for Texans to exercise the right to vote as a record number of polling places have closed. The state tops the nation in shutting down polling sites – closing 750 locations since 2013. Civil rights advocates warn this will disenfranchise voters. 
In the 86th Legislative Session, Texas lawmakers passed legislation prohibiting local governments from setting up temporary polling locations. In the past, mobile and temporary voting centers helped provide better voting access to rural and under-served communities in Texas, including college students and the elderly. Two new Democratic groups and a former Austin city manager have filed suit against the Texas Secretary of State’s office, arguing the bill suppresses the vote of many disenfranchised groups.
Reform Austin covers all aspects of voting – how you vote, who you’re voting for, when you’re voting, where to vote, and the results of the elections. We report on new candidates that announce, people running for reelection, and legislators that announce their resignation. Additionally, we provide comprehensive voter guides for you to compare candidates on the issues, as well as constitutional amendment explainers. Check Reform Austin for everything about voting, including what is done in the Texas Legislature to either promote or suppress the vote.

Four file to run for Texas Senate District 6 seat to replace Sylvia Garcia

Four candidates are running for the Texas Senate District 6 seat.

How state representatives Carol Alvarado's and Ana Hernandez's legislative records match up

Rep. Carol Alvarado and Rep. Ana Hernandez have filed to run for State Senator Sylvia Garcia's seat in lieu of being elected to the U.S. Congress.

Gina Calanni defeats Mike Schofield

Gina Calanni defeated Mike Schofield for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives.

Carl Sherman Sr. elected to the Texas House of Representatives

Carl Sherman Sr. has been elected to the Texas House of Representatives.
Trey Martinez Fischer

Trey Martinez Fischer defeats Fernando Padron

Trey Martinez Fischer defeated Fernando Padron for a seat in Texas House of Representatives.

Leo Pacheco defeats John Lujan

Leo Pacheco defeated John Lujan for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives.

Sheryl Cole defeats Gabriel Nila

Sheryl Cole defeated Gabriel Nila for a seat inside of the Texas House of Representatives.

Reggie Smith defeats Valerie Hefner

Reggie Smith defeats Valerie Hefner for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives.

Candy Noble Defeats Ray Ash

Candy Noble defeated Ray Ash for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives.

Brad Buckley defeats Kathy Richerson

Brad Buckley defeated Kathy Richerson for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives.

Elections Must Read